Okabe & Haushalter
Call Today! 310-543-7708
Call Today! 310-543-7708
Okabe & Haushalter Blog

You Know You Were Not Drunk, But You’ve Been Arrested

Okabe & Haushalter Oct 4, 2018 DUI

It is Friday and the only thing you have been thinking about is meeting some of your coworkers for a couple of drinks at happy hour before you head home to relax.

Everything is going well. You have a few, but you know for sure you are okay to drive. What you may not have realized is that one of your headlights is out. That did not matter when you drove to the restaurant because it was daylight. Now, it is dark out and you drove right by a police officer.

When you get pulled over, we know it can be nerve-wracking.

You know you have been drinking, but you also know you are driving just fine.

What if the officer suspects you are drunk?

If the officer does, you have a few options, none of which are going to be helpful. The officer is going to ask you if you have had anything to drink. Being honest is really the only route because the officer is going to ask you to step out of the car. You may be asked to perform a field sobriety test as well as a breathalyzer test to determine your blood alcohol content.

The legal limit in California is .08 percent. If you refuse to take the breathalyzer, your license will automatically be suspended, possibly for up to a year. If you take the test and blow at or over the legal limit, it is likely you will be arrested and taken to jail.

That means you will be processed. Your mugshot will be taken and posted online.

A DUI charge can change your life, even if it is just a first offense.

Fighting It

It is important for you to know the extent of punishments for DUIs. You could serve time in jail, incur fines up to $1,000 (as well as license reinstatement fees), have to complete DUI programs, and be required to obtain SR-22 insurance.

That is just the legal punishment. In your life, your employer may not look kindly to their employee getting a drunk driving charge.

All of this because you wanted to have a few drinks with friends after a long week.

Under 21?

California has a zero-tolerance policy for drivers who are under 21 and have alcohol in their system. Punishments for this are severe and swift, often requiring DUI school, license suspensions, and major fines.

What You Can Do

At Obake & Haushalter, we understand the importance of tough DUI laws, but we also believe that people deserve to be treated fairly. If you have been arrested for DUI, it is vitally important for you to secure legal assistance as soon as possible. We are experienced in this area of law and will work to ensure you are treated fairly throughout the process. When you need a DUI attorney in San Francisco, you can contact us today by clicking here or calling 310-430-7799 for a free consultation.